Lingua Carta

Because I am terrified of plagiarism, I am suggesting that one would examine this site to understand what I am talking about. If you’re not like me, it will only take you two seconds to look at it, get the gist, and come back. If you find yourself similar to me, than it will take you about fifteen hours–of taking your sweet time to go into greater depth on the linked site, to examine what I wanted you to see, and create overcomplicated plans that would ultimately affect your entire life, but only if you actually manage to succeed.

My immediately I was engrossed in the Germanic languages map, and desperately wanted to learn Danish so I could connect my primitive knowledge of German to Swedish(!!), and also I thought that it was surprising how lexically close English is to Icelandic. So that’s cool.

I found it cool that Greek is connected to pretty much everything–if pretty indirectly.

While I am now excited about developing convoluted language-learning schedules in order to master the world through European languages, and the thought of being an actual polyglot makes me want to explode into rainbows and unicorns with joy, I understand (to some degree) that it takes time to learn languages, and you have to be able to stick with it. People don’t become hyperglots by hyperactively jumping from half-learning one language to the next.

I can’t entirely explain why I want to learn languages, because there are way too many fantastic reasons to. Some basic things are neurological health, communication, and thought. People behave and communicate differently based on the words they have access to thought thought–humans do not think (usually) in abstract concepts and images. While some people rely more heavily on visualization, there are at least small cultural differences based on what there are words for and what there are not words for. And that’s important. I want to expand my mental parameters by developing concepts I may have been unaware of due to my limited vocabulary based almost solely in the English language.

And I don’t want to live my life–my one chance to exist–and die without being in better contact with the world I inhabit(ed).

3 thoughts on “Lingua Carta”

  1. hey, i love your blog! your blog name is amazing and the last paragraph of this post is so great I agree! i just started out my blog & i would be stoked if you could check it out and give me feedback! im looking forward to more of your posts!
    -cristina ☼

    Like

Leave a Reply

