Unfair Discrediting of the Voices of Others

Never degrade a person’s suffering. Unless you have genuine reason to believe that they have no idea what they’re talking about or are deliberately attempting to manipulate the beliefs of others, it’s one of the worst things you can do to a person–disregarding their free will and capability of autonomous decision and thought. If they are in pain, don’t try to one-up them. If they want something and have reasons behind it, listen to them–I’m not saying “legitimate” reasons because you are not the one to decide that until you have heard them. If someone is afraid or upset, don’t brush them off.

I could go into detail about the reasons I specify these situations, but that’s not the point. I don’t want to be the only one given the basic principle of respect–I want everyone to be treated fairly, and jumping to conclusions before a person can express themselves–and then snuffing their voice out–is completely unfair, and borderline evil; though obviously that standard has to be to a certain degree before it can be called such.

By “voice” I mean any form of expression. Censorship is not necessarily what I am talking about, but allowing words to be heard and then telling the person who said them–who developed them for a reason and expressed them out of an internal need to–that they are irrelevant is horrid.

I am sure there are some circumstances where it is understandable that one could, theoretically, use this–namely if a person who is consistently cruel or dangerous to other people and may or may not be in a position of power–but generally, it is ridiculous that one could feel stable completely discrediting a person’s ability to think and communicate, and then disarming them.

I’ve had this happen to me throughout me life, by well-intentioned friends and family, and by people be do not intend for me to develop into a happy person. I am growing very weary of it. Though people have made attempts to correct this and apologize, I have never been particularly good at forgiving and forgetting, and I do not want it to happen again. I am sure there are other people who have experienced this on a worse scale than the one I have observed.

Leave a Reply

